Isaiah 42:16 says, “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them.” To me, this is the perfect definition of an act of faith – recognizing I am blind, and following God along an unfamiliar path.

I named our drama ministry (and this site) Acts of Faith, because we didn’t know where we were headed, and we had no choice but to follow God through the thicket. This week, though, God has directed me to act in faith in a completely different way – to back out of a ministry I had been involved with. Before now, I had never seen that quitting could be an act of faith. I saw quitting as giving up, and thought the act of faith would be to forge ahead.

God has shown me otherwise, both through His counsel and the counsel of some godly friends. I spent a lot of time in prayer over this decision, and He rewarded that by allowing me to hear His voice. I realized I can’t listen to the voices of should and ought to over the voice of God. Last night I heard people whom I expected to be hurt by my decision call me brave. I can’t rely on support from anyone other than God, but it sure doesn’t hurt.

So now I have to wait and see what He has planned next. There’s some indication He has new directions in mind for the drama team – our first outside-the-church-walls event fell into my lap last week, and I’m hoping it will lead to others. During the month of October, our church concentrated on the theme “Fill us up, send us out”, and I’ve been feeling convicted about being willing to be sent out. What exactly does that mean? I have no idea. He hasn’t shown me yet.

Waiting. There’s a real act of faith.

