It doesn’t seem like the words encouraging and rejection ought to come together to make one phrase. I received one of these little oxymorons in yesterday’s mail. I suppose it’s better than a form rejection. Maybe.

I had sent Blackwell Inn to Lillenas, one of the premier publishers for Christian drama. I wasn’t sure my stuff was up to their standards, but I decided to try there first. And here’s what I got back. “I really liked this – excellent! – but we don’t have a need for it right now.” So, yeah – excellent is nice to hear in response to my work, especially from a respected publisher. But it leaves me wondering, if excellent isn’t enough to get me in the door, where do I go from here?

Yes, I know, it was a matter of timing. But it’s really frustrating.

I guess this is where faith comes in – again. Everything in life comes back to faith, and trusting that God has it all under control. It’s so easy to look at what we want and assume that’s what’s best for us. So often He has different plans, something we never could have imagined.

I sent Blackwell Inn out again already to the next publisher on my list. We’ll see what happens.

