Yesterday in our worship service, we had a soloist sing “I Can Only Imagine”. And while I was listening to him (and trying to fade into the woodwork, because I was seated right behind him on the platform while he sang, and thus projected larger-than-life on the screens along with him) something jumped out at me in that song that never had before. It was this line – “Surrounded by your glory, what will my heart feel? Will I dance for you, Jesus, or in awe of you be still?” The conclusion is that we can only imagine, but it hit me yesterday that in some small way, I don’t have to imagine, because Jesus has already told me.

Two years ago I was in a really difficult place, and I couldn’t see where God was leading me or why He would take me through such hard times. One day during a time of intense prayer, I suddenly got an image in my head, and I know that God sent it to me in answer to the questions I was asking Him. I saw myself dancing with Jesus – we were in a huge ballroom, and we were like Fred and Ginger, making it look effortless, gliding and spinning across the floor. I actually saw Jesus in a tuxedo, and myself in a ball gown. And He told me, Just let Me lead, and you follow, and we can keep dancing like this forever.

I am always amazed, not just that God speaks to us, but that He does it in a way unique to each person. I love to dance. I’ve done some choreography for our church productions, and I caused a minor stir by having Jesus dance in our Passion play. So He knew that image would speak to me, that I would understand Him that way. He knew I would feel His love, not only in that He spoke to me, but that He understood my heart.

He has spoken to me many times since then, and I admit, I had kind of forgotten about that image. But He brought it to the front of my mind yesterday, and the memory left me somewhere between laughter and tears of gratitude (I probably didn’t look so non-descript on the big screen at that moment). “Will I dance for you, Jesus, or in awe of you be still?” I’m sure there will be times of awe and stillness, but He reminded me that He and I have a date to dance together in heaven, and that He’s looking forward to it as much as I am.

   

