I just got off the phone with a friend of mine whose daughter is making her theater debut tonight in our community theater production of Big. Her daughter is 10, which is the same age I was in my real theater debut, when I played Amaryllis in The Music Man. It’s been fun to watch her go, during the course of rehearsals, from, “Maybe I can do this” to “This is the best thing ever!” She reminds me of myself at her age, being bitten by the theater bug. And look where it’s lead me!

Something else interesting came out of our conversation this afternoon. This theater is one I used to work with, and the choreographer on this show had been in a cast with me about five  years ago. Apparently my friend mentioned me to her last night, and the choreographer’s response – despite the fact that she and I hadn’t spoken much – was, “Oh, yeah, I remember her – she was always so sweet to everyone.”

To me, that’s another form of drama ministry, or rather, another way to use drama as ministry. There was nothing specifically Christian about the play we were doing, but when you do all things for the glory of God, then anything can be ministry. I wouldn’t have been surprised to hear she didn’t remember me at all – she was a teenager at the time, and I was an adult, and our contact was pretty minimal. But instead I find that I left a lasting impression – thank goodness it was a positive one.

I frequently talk to our drama team members about their position as public ambassadors for Christ. This is true of all Christians, of course, but even more so for those who choose to be part of a public ministry. Once you’ve been on the platform, people will recognize you, whether or not you recognize them. It’s been very strange for me, getting a small taste of what it’s like to be famous. Many times people have waved to me in Wal-Mart, even greeted me by name, and I have no memory of ever having seen them before. Then I have to think about what they’ve just caught me doing – is it something I wouldn’t have done if I’d realized there were church people around? Shouldn’t my behavior be the same regardless of who’s around?

Drama ministry – as any ministry – is so much more than what’s done in the context of church. There is no time clock to punch for when we’re on or off duty. We can use every moment of our lives as an opportunity to minister. Think about what kind of impression you’re leaving for those around you. Assume they know you’re a follower of Jesus. Are you representing Him well?  

