Have you ever had the extremely unsettling experience of realizing you’re living something you had dreamed a few days ago? I had that happen to me yesterday. Three days ago I dreamed that when I showed up for church Sunday morning, our interim worship pastor was stuck in an airport and couldn’t get home, so our bass player was leading worship instead. Then I showed up yesterday morning, and that was exactly what was happening. I can’t remember the last time I had such a feeling of unreality wash over me – as if I were going to wake up any minute. It didn’t help that I’m still feeling fairly sick, so everything’s kind of fuzzy, anyway.

The good news is that, though in the dream it went on to be a nightmare kind of service, with our drama sketch completely bombing and the congregation rushing out the doors due to a fire alarm, in real life the service went well. The drama was as close to perfect as possible. I was kind of nervous, because I had a new actor performing yesterday, and you just never know what to expect, but he was great. (Randy, you’re a keeper!) It dovetailed perfectly with the sermon, which is the goal but doesn’t always work.

Actually, my dream about Sunday wasn’t the first bit of weirdness connected to this sketch. I generally write our scripts, but this time we used one I found in a book. I had been trying to think of an idea to write about for this sermon I knew was coming up, and suddenly I remembered this sketch I had read and wondered if it would work. The next time I checked my e-mail, I had a note from our pastor, describing this sketch he had seen done and wondering if I could find it to go with his upcoming sermon. When I checked the time on the e-mail, we’d aparently been thinking about the script at the same time.

So between that and how well it went yesterday (I believe this is the first time we’ve ever done a drama without a single dropped line) I think God must have had plans for this. I don’t know if I’ll ever see the results, but I’m trusting that He used it. That’s why we do it, right? Offering ourselves to Him, trusting Him for the outcome, whether or not it’s something we ever see. I guess that’s why it’s an act of faith.

