I think I’ve figured out why Christmas hasn’t felt special to me this year – and it’s a good thing. Our pastor preached yesterday on the difference between the spirit of Christmas and the Spirit of Christ, and how if we have the latter, then we’ll have the former 365 days a year. And I think that’s it. I’ve finally reached a point in my life where I’m utterly content and peaceful, so those “warm Christmas fuzzies” I usually feel don’t seem that different to me from the way I always feel.

I am so blessed. My husband and I are still crazy in love with each other after twelve and a half years. We have a loving, funny, smart son. We have good friends who make us laugh and who’ll sit with us when we cry. We aren’t financially rich, but we don’t want for anything. God has provided for us well enough that I’m able to devote myself to the ministry I love.

I already have everything I want for Christmas.

Nathan is, of course, antsy to rip into packages in the morning. That’s a given when you’re nine. I’m antsy to watch him, to see his face when he finds those special surprises he didn’t ask for but I know he’ll love. I’m antsy to watch my husband, Matt, find his surprises, too. I’m antsy to go to a friend’s house later that afternoon to share food and laughter. I’m antsy to take off on our spur-of-the-moment (decided yesterday) overnight trip to Houston the day after Christmas. I’m antsy to get back afterward and get to work on Safe Haven.

This is my life, and I’m antsy for all of it. It doesn’t have anything to do with the date. I love the life God has given me, whether it’s Christmas, Flag Day or September 25.

I hope you have a very merry Christmas with the people you love. And a merry December 26. And merry all the rest of the days, too.

   

